Four Easy Steps to Merge Your Company’s Google Plus Pages

Google Plus and other Google products are rapidly becoming reputable tools for digital marketing. Google Places for Business is a fantastic service that lists essential details about your company on the front page (name, location, contact, services, etc.). You can learn tips about starting up your Places for Business page in this Business 2 Community article. Google Plus is the platform best used for interaction between company and consumer. The site enables users to follow businesses, post on their pages and review their experiences.

photo credit: Bruce Clay, Inc via photopin cc

photo credit: Bruce Clay, Inc via photopin cc

Google lets users seamlessly integrate the two pages together for a smooth page that is packed full of features to improve Whenever businesses sign up for any Google service, however, they may not realize that they are automatically signed up for a Google Plus page. Signing up for multiple services under different emails results in the creation of multiple Plus pages. Outdated and duplicate pages can wreak havoc on your business by misdirecting potential customers to a previous location or giving them incorrect contact information.

Merging Google Plus pages is relatively simple. Following these steps will send you in the right direction to effectively listing your company through Google.

  • Visit Google Takeout

Make sure that you are logged into the old Plus page for your business, first! Takeout lets you archive all of your contacts, settings and other information into a compact file.

  • Archive Your Circles

Mouse over Google Plus Circles and expand the drop-down menu. Click the link that prompts you to transfer your information to another Google Plus account.

  • Enter Your Destination Page

The next page should prompt you to enter the email of the page where you would like to transfer your information. Log in to your destination account and initiate the data transfer. Takeout gives you a seven day waiting period before the transfer begins and you can no longer cancel the action. The actual transfer takes about 48-hours to complete. Once the transfer completes, the act cannot be undone.

  • Disable Google Plus for Your Old Page

Make sure that you are content with your new page’s contents. Sign in to your old page’s settings and at the page’s bottom, choose to disable Google Plus. People that followed your old profile are now followers of your up-to-date profile. Your old page will no longer show up on their profile, nor elsewhere when consumers search for your business! Takeout does not transfer posts and information from your old profile. This is typically irrelevant because the page is outdated, anyhow!

While these steps are meant to help a company with multiple listings on Google Plus, you can use them to combine multiple personal profiles as well! Check out Grovo.com for a step-by-step video to walk you through the process.